A Chicken in Every Crockpot!

Karen's Kitchen Adventures

baby it’s cold outside! December 29, 2009

Filed under: casserole,poultry — frappqueen @ 8:37 pm
Tags:

brrr! It’s a whopping 20 degrees outside tonight, whipping winds and everything. So, it’s definitely a cozy night in for me! I was originally going to make a Rachel Ray dish tonight: asparagus and potatoes and chicken, I forget the exact name. But, driving home in the freezing wind earlier, I decided we needed something cozier than that. I made a superawesome rotisserie chicken Monday evening and we still had a bunch of leftovers. Pot pie is always good, but I wanted something lighter, we’ve been eating like crazy lately!

So, I did some quick googling and came up with a recipe for Chicken Noodle Casserole. Yum! I haven’t had that in probably years, and the main thing I remember about it is that I love the breadcrumbs and also the sauce. This one was a bit full of bad for you stuff, so I changed it a lot and halved it because really, no one wants leftovers when you made the dish using leftovers, right?

I wish I remembered where I got the recipe from, but its okay, I didn’t love it anyway. It was good, but next time I would add a few more veggies and a little more chicken stock to flavor it more.

casserole!

I have no idea why these pictures came out so…yellowy, but oh well, I promise it tasted better than it looks here! Anyway, here is the basic recipe I used:

Chicken Noodle Casserole (super good for you version!)

1 c. cooked chicken, shredded or diced

1/2 bag egg noodles

1 tbsp butter

1 swirl in the pan of olive oil

3 garlic cloves, minced

1 c. skim milk

1 c. fat-free or low-fat chicken broth

1 egg yolk (you can probably do without this)

1/2 c. sliced mushrooms (I used baby bellas)

1 small onion, chopped

2 tablespoons sherry

salt, pepper and poultry seasoning to taste

1 tsp. tarragon (cuz I like it!)

Method:

heat oven to 350.

In a skillet, melt butter and olive oil til it starts looking bubbly. Add mushrooms, onions and garlic and saute until everything is lightly browned.  Stir in flour and let cook one more minute. Using a whisk, slowly whisk in milk and broth, stirring without stopping to eliminate lumps. Lower heat.

In a separate bowl whisk the egg yolk. Temper this by adding a small amount of the milk mixture into the eggs and stirring rapidly. Then add yolk mix back to the other pan and stir rapidly.  Add in the chicken, sherry and egg noodles to the pan at this point and stir to combine.

transfer to a casserole dish thats been sprayed with cooking spray, top with buttered bread crumbs and parmesan cheese if you are feeling frisky! Let bake 25 minutes or until brown and bubbly. Enjoy!

In the future, I’d also add carrots and celery to the mix, and maybe a bit more flour to thicken up the sauce a tad more. But, Mike liked it just the way it was, so who knows!

 

Leave a Reply

