A Chicken in Every Crockpot!

Karen's Kitchen Adventures

Ginger Chicken and Sweet-Salty noodles with Veggies January 12, 2010

Filed under: eat your vegetables,poultry — frappqueen @ 9:50 pm
Tags: ,

This one is what we had tonight! Via Rachel Ray’s “Express Lane Meals” , I found this one the other day when looking through it for the millionth time for a new recipe to try.

Now, I do own pretty much every cookbook RR has ever written and I love most of her recipes. I think I’ve only had one flop from all of them! This one was really yummy in the end, but kind of frustrating in between. I’m not sure that the end was worth the effort, at least not on a weeknight. Which is odd, since it came from a cookbook called Express Lane, right?! Oh well. But seriously, even with Mike chopping half the veggies, it took me an hour to make it from start to finish! I also left a few things out either because I didn’t have them or I got lazy! Here is the recipe the way I made it.

Ginger Chicken and Sweet-Salty Noodles with Veggies

1 pound of thin long cut pasta (I used leftover thin chinese noodles, how appropriate!)

5 tablespoons vegetable oil

1/2 c. fresh flat leaf parsley

1/2 c. fresh cilantro (if you hate cilantro you can skip it)

1 large garlic clove, smashed

1/2 an onion, cut into chunks

3 inches of fresh ginger, peeled and grated

3 or 4 thin chicken cutlets

1/2 c. of mild vinegar, such as rice or white wine (I used rice)

1 1/2 tablespoons sugar

3 tablespoons tamari or soy sauce if you don’t have tamari (I do because I’m crazy)

1 seedless cucumber cut in half and then into moons (mine had seeds, oh well!)

1 red and 1 yellow pepper, seeded and cut into matchsticks

3 scallions, thinly sliced (I forgot to buy these so we did without)

Method:

Cook your pasta according to the packaged directions. Set aside in a large bowl once drained.

In a blender or food processor, combine 3 tablespoons of the vegetable oil, the parsley, cilantro, garlic, onion and 2/3 of the ginger, as well as salt and pepper. Blend until the mixture is smooth. Pour over the chicken and let it marinade at least a few minutes.

While the pasta is cooking and the marinade is marinating, place a small saucepan over medium heat. Add the rice wine vinegar, sugar, tamari, and the rest of the grated ginger. Cook until the sugar dissolves. Once it has dissolved take from the heat and pour it into the bowl with the pasta. Add the chopped veggies (cucumbers, peppers and scallions) and toss the ingredients together so everything is well coated. Put foil over the top of the bowl to keep it warm.

Warm up a grill pan or skillet and cook the chicken through about 3 or 4 minutes per side or until the meat is fully cooked and white all the way through. It took me about 15 minutes because I had super thick chicken breasts. whoops!

Once it is cooked, slice the chicken very thin. Spoon the noodle and veggie mixture into a bowl and top with some chicken. Break out the chopsticks and enjoy! It’s takeout at home!

 

Leave a Reply

