A Chicken in Every Crockpot!

Karen's Kitchen Adventures

Turkey Jambalaya January 20, 2010

Filed under: one dish,poultry,rice — frappqueen @ 10:49 pm
Tags:

It would appear that lately all we seem to eat are things that come in bowl-fuls! Chili, soup, risotto, it’s all in a little bowl of happiness! Oh well, tonight I’ve got another bowl-ful, and this one is even healthy!

Jambalaya is an awesome mix of sausage, rice and spices. I’m not a big fan of spicy though, so I tend to try to sway Mike away from making it. However, awhile ago I made a version from Sandra Lee (of all people!, she scares me, but that’s another story) and it was not that spicy at all; in fact it was really good! So when Mike sent me this Cooking Light version, which uses turkey instead of chicken and ten kinds of fatty meats, I said, why not?! And I’m glad I did!

jambalaya!

Turkey Jambalaya (from Cooking Light)

1 tablespoon olive oil (I just used cooking spray, it’s my bff)

1 1/2 c. chopped onion

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1 green bell pepper, chopped (I used yellow, I hate green peppers)

1 red bell pepper, chopped

2 1/2 tsp paprika

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp dried oregano

1/2 tsp pepper

1/2 tsp ground red pepper (I omitted this as I’m wimpy; also we don’t have any!)

1 c uncooked long grain rice

2 c. fat-free low sodium chicken broth

1 14.5 ounce can diced tomatoes, undrained

2 c. shredded cooked turkey

6 oz. andouille sausage, sliced thin (you can use spicy italian if you can’t find andouille)

1 bunch of scallions, chopped

Method:

Heat oil in a large dutch oven (really big pot!) over medium-high heat. Add onion and garlic; sauté 6 minutes or until lightly browned. Stir in bell peppers and next five ingredients (bell peppers through red pepper); sauté 1 minute. Add rice, sauté one minute. Stir in broth and tomatoes, bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat and let simmer for 15 minutes. Add turkey and sausage; cover and cook another five minutes. Sprinkle with green onions and let simmer 1 more minute, uncovered.

Scoop it in a big bowl and dig in! This one is only 249 calories a bowl! With 7.6 grams of fat! Eat two bowls if you wanna!


 

One Response to “Turkey Jambalaya”

  1. Jen Says:

    I appreciate you listing the ingredients range. I hate counting ingredients. It always makes me paranoid that I miscounted, so I usually count like 4 times, but never feel quite sure.


Leave a Reply

