A Chicken in Every Crockpot!

Karen's Kitchen Adventures

Deep Dish Chicago Pizza February 19, 2010

Filed under: eat your vegetables,meat,Uncategorized — frappqueen @ 9:28 pm
Tags:

I made this deep dish pizza from a recipe over at Cooking Light. It was a fun cooking experiment, but eh, not sure I’d make it again. I guess I should back up a bit…I’ve had a TERRIBLE congested head cold for over a week! I’ve been so congested that I ended up having to get mild steroids from my allergist to make everything stop being so inflamed and awful. But, I’ve been so congested that I can’t overly taste anything either.

So, back to the pizza. I saw this recipe for a low fat version of deep dish on my fav. low fat cooking site, Cooking Light and thought, hey, why not!? It was a bit involved: you have to make the dough from scratch, meaning take the yeast, mix it with water, let it sit…add flour and oil and etc, roll and kneed it, let it sit til it doubles, punch it down, etc. etc. So I saved it for this week as I’ve got off from school and no life, so plenty of time for pizza making!

The dough part was actually a LOT of fun and rather nice stress relief. I enjoyed it so much, I think I’m going to try my hand at home-made pecan rolls or something soon. I just read an awesome book all about a woman who quits her job in Hollywood and opens up a bakery in Vermont, and she put recipes from her bakery at the end of each chapter! One of them is for the pecan rolls and so I must make them! But, I digress. Back to the pizza!

I’m not going to put the whole recipe here, you can just click on the link already posted. Its really long and wordy and well, here is the gist of it:

Make dough. Let it sit. Punch it down. Roll it out and push it into a baking dish, making sure it goes up the sides. Chop up chicken sausage and bell peppers (they also tell you to add mushrooms but I did not do this), layer cheese, meat, veggies and top with chopped up roma tomatoes outta the can. Top with extra cheese and some italian spices and bake for about 20 minutes.

The result as I said before, were okay for me. Mike liked it a lot so I can’t tell if it just seemed bland due to my illness or he just didn’t mind that it was bland? If I made it again I think I’d want to add some garlic salt and parmesean cheese and maybe another type of meat, but I guess then it wouldn’t be quite so low fat, eh? Oh well, perhaps some things are just meant to go FULL FAT!

At least it looked pretty!

 

2 Responses to “Deep Dish Chicago Pizza”

  1. Lizo Says:

    That seems like a lot of work for the dough. I would probably just buy frozen pizza dough instead (which I have done). Hmm, perhaps tonight will be a homemade pizza night!

    Nah, it’s too easy to get great thin-crust pizza from Salvatore’s. : )

  2. […] February 27, 2010 Filed under: breads — frappqueen @ 11:46 am Tags: bread After making pizza last week and reading all about the adventures of a baker, I really wanted to try making yeast […]


Leave a Reply

