A Chicken in Every Crockpot!

Karen's Kitchen Adventures

Chicken Francaise a la Mrs. Anderson February 22, 2010

Filed under: poultry — frappqueen @ 6:34 pm
Tags:

I made this recipe based on one from one of my lovely co-workers. She is 100 percent Italian (I think?!) so of course its awesome!! Chicken francaise is one of those dishes that I really like to eat, but sometimes it gets annoying. I mean, you have to fry it all up and be sure the chicken is cooked through and then you want the sauce to be good but you want it to be coating the chicken and well, it tends to be something I rarely make as it’s a tad complicated. Her recipe really makes it simple and she’s a genius- pan fry for a few minutes and then BAKE IT. Duh! Why didn’t I think of that?! I did change it a tiny itty bit as I like to add white wine to my sauce and I added some lemon zest cuz zest makes everything better! But other than that, I followed it exactly and the results were delicious!

Chicken Francaise
2 pkg. thin chicken cutlets
Flour, salt, pepper, paprika (for color)
2 eggs, lightly beaten
1 10.5 ounce can chicken broth
1/2 stick butter (plus more to cook chicken in)
3 lg. lemons plus zest

I added: 1/2 c. white wine
Mix enough flour, salt, pepper and paprika to dip the chicken in. Dip chicken in egg and flour lightly. Brown chicken in large, buttered skillet. Remove chicken and place in large baking pan in a single layer. In the pan, melt the  butter in the chicken broth and add the zest of two of the lemons. Squeeze the juice of 2 of the lemons into the mixture (remove pits), and add the white wine to deglaze the pan and add some zip! . . Pour the broth mixture over the chicken, slice one lemon and place in pan. Bake covered in 350 degree oven for 20 minutes.

Serve over white rice, oh man, so easy and so delicious!

 

Leave a Reply

