A Chicken in Every Crockpot!

Karen's Kitchen Adventures

Crock Pot week! Cranberry Roast March 17, 2010

Filed under: meat — frappqueen @ 8:30 pm
Tags: ,

One of my favorite websites in the whole entire world is “356 Crockpot” This woman set a goal two years ago to cook for her family EVERY day in her crock for a year! Not only did she do it, she ended up making a career out of it! She has cookbooks and was on tv and is still super funny and awesome and I wish she was my friend in real life! Anyway, I had forgotten about her blog, but this weekend, I remembered and she inspired me: How about I try to cook for a week once a month using my crock? Every meal for a week, fun new recipes each time? Why not!

First up I tried her recipe for Cranberry Roast as it lured me with its four simple ingredients. It seriously took me about five minutes to prep it in the morning. I got it ready while my bread toasted! The recipe itself was super simple, but next time I think I would add a bit of liquid, it came out a bit dry for my taste and Mike agreed. I think a 1/2 a cup of beef broth added to it would have made it perfect. Using whole cranberries and cooking it on low for hours ends up with a tangy-sweet sauce, and the cranberries mellow out. So good over mashed potatoes!

Cranberry Roast:

2-3 pounds beef or pork roast or stew chunks (I used stew chunks)
1 medium yellow onion, diced
2 tablespoons soy sauce
1 16 oz can whole berry cranberry sauce

(next time I’d add a 1/2 c. beef broth)

Method:

Throw all the ingredients in the crock in this order: onions, beef, soy sauce, can o’ cran…then add the beef broth if you want to. Cover and cook on low for like 10 hours*…can be done in 7 though. If you cook it on high, it would be ready in roughly five hours. Serve with the gravy over some mashed potatoes. I used instant, talk about the easiest meal ever invented!

*I’m wondering if my meat was dry because I just cooked it too long and used stew pieces and not a whole piece of beef? If I’d been home to check it at 7 hours it might have been perfect then. So I guess if you will be away awhile, add some liquid! Otherwise, give it a try as-is. Tell me how it goes!

 

2 Responses to “Crock Pot week! Cranberry Roast”

  1. Lizo18 Says:

    How many servings do you think this makes? Thanks!


Leave a Reply

