A Chicken in Every Crockpot!

Karen's Kitchen Adventures

Jambalaya Bake May 16, 2010

Filed under: casserole,one dish,poultry,Uncategorized — frappqueen @ 11:00 am
Tags: , ,

This recipe is very easy to make, courtesy of Sandra Lee (and you know I don’t really like her, but its okay!) Nice and easy for a busy weeknight:

Jambalaya Bake

1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut into one inch pieces

1 can (14ish ounces) diced tomatoes with onion, celery and bell pepper (Hunt’s makes this she claims, though I’ve only found whole tomatoes with the other stuff, so I buy that and just use kitchen shears to chop up the tomatoes, I’m a genius!)

1 can (14 ounce) reduced sodium chicken broth

8 ounces hot Louisiana sausage, cut into one inch pieces (We use whatever we’ve got: Andouille, hot italian or whatever)

1 box (8 oz) jambalaya mix ( I use Zatarain’s)

Method:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a 2 quart casserole, stir together all ingredients. Cover tightly with aluminum foil.

Bake in preheated oven for 70 to 85 minutes.

THAT’S IT! How easy can it possibly be? The results are rather spicy, so you might opt for a less sassy sausage if its too much for you…it was totally too spicy for me! I ate it anyway though as I had severe head congestion and it sure did make that go away!

 

2 Responses to “Jambalaya Bake”

  1. Mike Rocha Says:

    I love Cajun! Please tell me. Have you actually tried this in a crock pot? Your instructions above call from baking in an oven. I have a slow cooker that I love to use during the week. It’s great to come home and smell a meal ready to eat. Makes for good family time. If you have tried this method please let me know.

    Mike Rocha
    Publisher, SmallApplianceDepot.com


Leave a Reply

