A Chicken in Every Crockpot!

Karen's Kitchen Adventures

Buttermilk Waffles a la The Joy of Cooking! August 14, 2010

Filed under: breakfast — frappqueen @ 4:51 pm
Tags:

OH MAN  YOU MUST MAKE THESE WAFFLES! Do not let the list of ingredients intimidate you as there are more than four. Do not fear that it seems like a lot of butter. Do not worry about finding buttermilk to make this recipe with. Just gather your ingredients, put fun music on, brew some coffee and enjoy making these awesome waffles!!

I found this recipe via a super cool blog which I found somehow but forget now! Maybe I googled waffles? I have no idea. At any rate, I’m not even going to bother posting the recipe myself as this person does it awesomely, including super helpful footnotes! I hope they don’t mind my linking to them…but here it is!

http://lifeatnumber71.wordpress.com/2010/01/31/buttermilk-waffles-with-dark-maple-syrup/

I just used plain old low fat Aunt Jemima’s with my waffles and they were still amazing. Mike was super surprised when he woke up to coffee and fresh waffles! That’s what happens when you’ve got a baby kicking you like crazy at 6am on a Sunday!

One hint I can give you is in regards to buttermilk: I know using the real deal is always best, but who actually stocks and keeps buttermilk on hand most of the time? If you wake up and want to make these on a whim and don’t want to run to the store in your jammies, what can you do? Do what I do! Keep on hand Saco Cultured Buttermilk Blend! Its a powder that you just add water to, and voila! You’ve got decent buttermilk for baking. It is certainly not as good as the real thing, but it is nice to have for a buttermilk emergency! You can usually find it with the baking supplies, kind of near the condensed milk and stuff of that nature.

Now go out there and make some waffles!

 

One Response to “Buttermilk Waffles a la The Joy of Cooking!”

  1. Cari Miller Says:

    I’m glad you too loved these waffles! And thanks for the reminder on just how awesome they are- it has been awhile and it’s time to revisit this recipe!


Leave a Reply

